Alvin Lucier - Chambers
  Year :   1965
  Location :   USA
  Worktype :   Book
  Materials:   -
  Info :   The Deep Listening Catalog

  Work Details  
  A virtually complete collection of composer Alvin Luciers major works from 1965 to 1977, interspersed with twelve interviews with the composer by Douglas Simon. Each score is written in prose and may be read by musicians as instructions for performance or by general readers as descriptions of imaginary musical activities. In response to Simons searching questions, Lucier expands on each composition, not only explaining its genesis and development but also revealing its importance to the vigorously experimental American tradition to which Alvin Lucier belongs. Many of his compositions jolt conventional notions of the role of composer, performer, and listener, and the spaces in which they play and listen. His works are scored for an astonishing range of instruments: sea shells, subway stations, toy crickets, sonar guns, violins, synthesizers, bird calls and Bunsen burners.