Karlheinz Stockhausen - KLANG
  Year :   2004
  Location :   Germany
  Worktype :   Electronic Composition
  Materials:   www.stockhausen.org - all material copyrighted by the Stockhausen Foundation for Music, Kuerten, Germany
  Info :   -

  Work Details  
  In 2004 I began this project, entitled KLANG (SOUND). The concert series PAUSE of the Milan Cathedral, directed by Don Luigi Garbini, commissioned the First Hour (ORA PRIMA), entitled HIMMELFAHRT (ASCENSION) for organ, soprano and tenor. It was world premièred on Ascension Day, May 5th 2005 at the Milan Cathedral. This was followed by a commission for the Second Hour (ORA SECONDA), entitled FREUDE (JOY) for 2 harps. The Third Hour NATÜRLICHE DAUERN (NATURAL DURATIONS) for piano was composed next and has not yet been finished. Angelica, the Italian concert series whose artistic director is Massimo Simonini, commissioned the Fourth Hour, entitled HIMMELS-TÜR (HEAVEN’S DOOR). It will be performed on June 13th 2006 in Lugo, Italy. At the moment, I cannot say very much about the possible development of KLANG (SOUND), The 24 Hours of the Day. But until now it seems that each hour contains the spiral of the 24 hours of the day and that the contents of the hours concern all of us. (It is recommended to ensure your entry to a heaven’s door already now.) Stockhausen, February 15th 2006