Jonty Harrison - Lament
  Year :   1985
  Location :   England
  Worktype :   Composition
  Materials:   tape
  Info :   BRMB Radio. Premiere: BRMB transmission, 1985. Mention, Bourges International Electroacoustic Awards 1986.

  Work Details  
  Douglas Doherty/Jonty Harrison Lament was composed in response to a joint commission from BRMB Radio in Birmingham and Radio Clyde, and was subsequently part of the Independent Broadcasting Authoritys submission for the music section of the Prix Italia in 1985. Bearing in mind the radio listener who might tune in by chance to the piece, we decided to utilise everyday sounds (which would have the advantage of being immediately recognisable) to attract the attention, but to compose these sounds musically. Thus whilst the musical content at first seems anecdotal, the structure and context are musical, giving rise to a work which can be interpreted on a variety of levels. The linking factor in this process is the notion of time - a prime concern of all composers (composition can, after all, be viewed as the organisation of time - and hence its mastery - by means of sound), here made explicit by many poetic references to it : ticking clocks, counting, the river of time (along with some borrowings from Hermann Hesse), etc - clichés, every one of them! Lament was composed in the Electroacoustic Music Studios of The University of Birmingham, with additional material from the Electroacoustic Music Studio at the University of Newcastle. Thanks are due to several people who contributed to the making of the piece: Brian Savin of BRMB, Alison Warne, Jan Smaczny, Geoffrey Warne, Jane Alderton, Sarah Griffin and John Whenham. Lament received a Mention in the 1986 Bourges International Electroacoustic Awards.